Field Trips

The Missouri Native Plant Society Board of Directors typically holds four meetings per year: three during the spring, summer, and fall, planned around field activities; and one during the winter (usually December) for extended business discussions and planning for the next year. The following table documents the general areas the Board has met since its inception.

Year Spring Summer Fall Winter
2022 Bolivar Area: Twenty-five Mile Prairie Conservation Area, Schuette Prairie, Rocky Barrens Conservation Area, Corry Flatrocks Conservation Area, Niangua River Hills Natural Area Pevely Area: Hickory Canyons Natural Area, Valley View Glades Natural Area, Sandy Creek State Historic Site, Don Robinson State Park (LaBarque Hills Trail) TBD TBD
2021 No Field Trip (COVID) Kansas City Area: Snowball Hill Prairie, Rocky Point Glade (Swope Park), Jerry Smith Park Eminence Area: Pioneer Forest, Alley Spring Natural Area, Mill Mountain Shut In, Angeline Conservation Area (Lick Log Hollow Trail) On-Line
2020 No Field Trip (COVID) No Field Trip (COVID) No Field Trip (COVID) On-Line
2019 Sullivan Area: Vilander Bluff NA (Onondaga Cave SP), Copper Hollow (Meramec SP), Walking Fern Trail (Meramec SP), Deer Run Trail (Onondaga Cave SP) Fulton Area: Prairie Garden Trust, Tucker Prairie, Graham
Cave, Danville Conservation Area
Poplar Bluff Area: Wappapello Training Site, Mingo NWR, Big Cane Conservation Area, Bradyville Natural Area at Otter Slough Conservation Area Columbia MDC Office
2018 Illinois, Shawnee NF with Chris Benda Rolla, Clifty Creek, Lane Springs Sedalia, Western Prairies Columbia MDC Office
2017 West Plains, Carmen Springs, Tingler Prairie Kahoka, Battle of Athens, Steyermark Sand Prairie Ava, Glade Top Trail, Taney Mtn, McClurg Glade Columbia (USFWS)
2016 Poplar Bluff, Otter Slough, Allred Lake Poplar Bluff, Rocky Falls, Pump Hollow Saint Joseph, Loess Hills, Rulo Bluffs Columbia (USFWS)
2015 Clinton, Lichen Glade, Prairies Kirksville, Morris Prairie Jefferson City, Earthquake Hollow, Auxvasse NA Columbia (USFWS)
2014 Potosi, Washington SP, Saint Joe SP Bethany, Helton, Pawnee Prairies, Chloe Lowry Marsh Cape Girardeau, Sand Prairie, Trail of Tears SP, Mingo NWR Columbia
2013 Pineville Salem Dent Co. Indian Trail CA Fulton, Tucker Prairie, Prairie Garden Trust Columbia
2012 Branson, Bull Shoals Field Station Camdenton, HaHa Tonka SP, Ozark Caverns Cuivre River SP Columbia
2011 Joplin, Chert Glade, Prairies Ironton, Johnson’s Shut-ins Sedalia, Prairies Columbia
2010 Farmington, Hawn SP, Hickory Canyon Chillicothe, Prairies Kansas City, KC Wildlands Areas Columbia
2009 Sikeston Springfield, Prairies 14 Fulton (30th Anniversary) Columbia
2008 Harrison AR 13 Squaw Creek NWR LaBarque Creek Watershed Columbia
2007 Oregon County, Springs of MO Dexter, Mingo NWR, Duck Creek CA Ha Ha Tonka SP, Ozark Caverns Columbia
2006 Roaring River SP Peck Ranch CA Dexter, Mingo NWR, Crowley’s Ridge Columbia
2005 Pere Marquette SP 12 Kirksville Prairie SP Columbia
2004 Caney Mountain West Plains Saint Joseph Columbia
2003 Springfield Clinton Cape Girardeau Columbia
2002 Montauk SP Warrensburg Kahoka Columbia
2001 Columbia Bethany Kansas City Columbia
2000 West Plains Carthage Salem Columbia
1999 Roaring River SP Houston Ironton Columbia
1998 Columbia Bethany 11 Kirksville Jefferson City
1997 Cuivre River SP Stockton Lake SP Poplar Bluff Rolla
1996 Montauk SP Cape Girardeau 10 Clinton Columbia
1995 Van Buren Chillicothe Springfield Jefferson City
1994 Roaring River SP Saint Joseph Joplin Rolla
1993 Pickle Springs Fulton (Prairie Garden Trust) Saint Louis 9 Jefferson City
1992 Reis Biological Station Lake of the Ozarks SP Blue Springs 8 Columbia
1991 Rolla 7 Caney Mountain Dexter Columbia 6
1990 Ha Ha Tonka SP Stockton Lake SP Van Buren (Big Spring) Rolla
1989 Saint Louis Fulton (10th Anniversary) Springfield (Henning CA) Columbia
1988 Roaring River SP Brookfield West Plains Columbia
1987 Holly Ridge CA Cherokee Pass Ted Shanks CA Jefferson City
1986 Warrensburg 5 Big Lake SP Sainte Genevieve Jefferson City
1985 Springfield Alley Spring Lake of the Ozarks SP Blue Springs
1984 Cape Girardeau 4 Columbia Missouri Botanical Garden (Jan 1985)
1983 Alley Spring Cuivre River SP Jefferson City (Jan 1984)
1982 Cape Girardeau Warrensburg Big Lake SP Missouri Botanical Garden (Feb 1983) 3
1981 Columbia 2 Rolla Joplin Missouri Botanical Garden
1980 Point Lookout Lake of the Ozarks SP Thousand Hills SP Kansas City
1979 Fulton 1 Montauk SP Babler SP
  • 14 Joint meeting with the Arkansas Native Plant Society
  • 13 Joint meeting with the Arkansas Native Plant Society
  • 12 Joint meeting with the Illinois Native Plant Society
  • 11 Joint meeting with the Iowa Native Plant Society
  • 10 Joint meeting with the Illinois Native Plant Society
  • 9 Joint meeting with the Eastern Native Plant Alliance
  • 8 Joint meeting with the Kansas Wildflower Society
  • 7 Joint meeting with the Audubon Society
  • 6 On February 29, 1992, at the Powder Valley Nature Center, Saint Louis, there was a special session of the Board to examine the Society’s objectives, priorities, and short- and long-term goals. This meeting was in addition to the four regular quarterly meetings.
  • 5 Joint meeting with the Missouri Academy of Science
  • 4 Joint meeting with the Missouri Academy of Science
  • 3 Joint meeting with the Missouri Prairie Foundation
  • 2 Joint meeting with the Ozark Wilderness Conference
  • 1 The Missouri Native Plant Society was officially formed on June 2, 1979.